## State of New York Commission on Judicial Nomination

54 State Street, 6th Floor Albany, New York 12207 (518) 689-1492 FAX (518) 689-1499 www.nysegov.com/cjn

E. Leo Milonas, Chair Matthew L. Biben John A. Cirando Steven M. Cohen Mylan L. Denerstein H. Dale Hemmerdinger Michael J. Hutter, Jr. Alan Mansfield Alvin H. Perlmutter Paul N. Samuels Dierdre K. Scozzafava

Henry M. Greenberg, Counsel Cynthia E. Neidl, Deputy Counsel

February 7, 2019 Contact: Henry M. Greenberg, Counsel

Phone: (518) 689-1492

e-mail: greenbergh@gtlaw.com

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## The Commission on Judicial Nomination Announces the Appointment of Hon. E. Leo Milonas to Serve as the Sixth Chair in its History

At a meeting held on February 6, 2019, the Commission on Judicial Nomination unanimously selected Hon. E. Leo Milonas to serve as its Chair. Judge Milonas is a former Chief Administrative Judge of the State of New York, Justice of the Appellate Division, First Department, and President of the New York City Bar Association, among numerous high-level positions he has held over the course of a long and distinguished career in public service and private practice. He is the sixth Chair in the Commission's history, succeeding Hon. Judith S. Kaye (2009-2016). The others to serve as Chair of the Commission are: Hon. John F. O'Mara (1998-2009); Hon. Hugh R. Jones (1992-1998); Mendes Hershman (1982-1992); and Herbert Wechsler (1977-1982). Immediately prior to Judge Milonas' appointment, the Commission was led by Commissioner Alan Mansfield, who served as an interim chair.

Under New York's State Constitution, the Commission on Judicial Nomination is charged with evaluating, and then recommending to the Governor, candidates to fill vacancies on the State's highest court, the Court of Appeals of the State of New York. The Commission vigorously seeks out,

carefully evaluates and then nominates to the Governor well qualified candidates from the extraordinary, diverse community of lawyers who have been admitted to practice in New York State for at least 10 years.

"It is an extraordinary privilege and honor to serve as Chair of this distinguished and important Commission," Judge Milonas said.